Justice System, Police, Courts Criminal vs illegal? (for a school project)

Jessy

Jurisdiction
D.C.
Hi,
currently I'm making a school project about the U.S. institution and as a German student I'm confused; what's the difference between something criminal and illegal? I've tried googling it but had difficulties understanding the results. To my understanding, every crime is also illegal but not everything illegal is a crime? And crimes are worse than illegal acts?

Assuming there is a difference, would marketing defective automobiles be considered something illegal or a crime? And is waging undeclared wars really not a crime? I think that it will be different from state to state, so let's take California as an example.

Any answers would be appreciated.

Illegal means contrary to the law. Crimes are a subset of illegal activity with specific penalties involving the possibility of incarceration.

Then there is legal liability. While being negligent isn't contrary to any law, you can be held liable for damages you cause for others under the law.

And there are some things that are illegal that are not crimes. They are infractions (like traffic violations) for which a person can be prosecuted but not have a criminal record.

There are county and city ordinances that make violations illegal but they are not crimes. A person can be fined for them or have other consequences but also not have a criminal record.

You mentioned making defective automobiles. Good example of something that can be a crime and not a crime. If it's done intentionally to make bigger profits it could be crime for which corporate executives can be imprisoned. If it's unintentional, it could be negligence and monetary damages awarded to the victim.

Another example is drunk driving. Drunk driving is a crime with imprisonment as a potential consequence. If the driver has an accident while drunk and causes damage or injury he will have to pay monetary damages to his victim for his negligence.