Copy Right infrigment of Independent Contractor's work

Status
Not open for further replies.

krjennings

During the last ~16 months, I worked as an independent contractor for a company. My job was at first to review the legitimacy of nutrition information provided by the company (I am a Registered Dietitian/small business owner). From there, it grew into creating a complete nutrition program that included writing an ebook, creating an online nutrition coaching/counseling program based on the one I'd created for my company over the years, and actually providing the coaching. I worked in good faith on the ebook and creation of the coaching program as I was told I would be able to charge royalties for the coaching program. I used content that I had previously created for my own business for both the ebook and coaching. I was paid for all my hourly work according to our agreed upon rate. The program, including the ebook and coaching, has been sold online for several months.

Since this began, the employee who first came to me with the idea for writing an ebook, but no content, added his name as an author to the book. ~5 months ago, the company took on a new business partner who also added his name as an author. I was somewhat "steamrolled" by this and made to feel that I should be grateful that they were keeping me on as an independent contractor although they may not need me in the future (the new business partner has a background in nutrition). I did not know my rights at the time as an independent contractor/author. The first added author only "authored" one paragraph in the introduction portion of the ebook, telling his weight loss story, and the 2nd added author wrote 3 paragraph in the introduction of the ebook promoting another one of his books. 100% of all other content in the ebook was created and authored by me.