Contractor not being paid

T

tluser

Jurisdiction
Texas
I am a software developer working as an independent contractor under a single employee S-corp. I was hired on a software implementation project that company A is doing for their client B. I only have agreement with company A. I have worked on the project for about 3 and half months and have not received a single payment. It is typical in my projects to get payment after two months (you invoice after a month of work and get paid after 30 days from invoice). My agreement doesn't set a payment terms but states that the payment will be made within 5 days after the end-client pays – which seemed reasonable but now I think this is too vague and I should have been more careful.

When I enquired company A about payment after about 2 months of work, I was told that the client hasn't paid them yet and the client doesn't have a any payment schedule. I was a bit surprised at first but got worried after another month of non-payment. Any subsequent emails from me about payments were simply ignored and I never got a response. Now I am almost at the end of the project. The project will go-live in a couple of weeks and I am afraid that I might never get paid. I have some questions regarding what I can do to get my payments.

(1) One option I have is to directly contact the end-client B and ask why they are not paying the services. Does that pose any legal issues down the road? I do have a confidentiality agreement with company A which mostly talks about not disclosing proprietary information but there is some language vague enough that I am not sure if it will prohibit me from asking the client about payments.

(2) Second option I have is – give them a notice that I cannot continue to work unless I am paid in two weeks and refuse to handover the code I developed. Again, I am not sure if this poses any legal problems down the road.