Consumer Law, Warranties Contractor left project unfinished

Status
Not open for further replies.

mst1234

Hello,

I hired a roofing contractor to re-roof my house after he initially completed re-roofing my garage, however after starting the re-roofing of the house I haven't seen him in a month, but has been paid in full. In addition, he does not return my phone calls or text messages, and roof sits unfinished. Here is a little history.

I work as a commercial/industrial construction estimator and I frequently receive phone calls from subcontractors inquiring about work. I happened to receive a phone call from a what appeared to be a hardworking, honest roofing contractor looking for work, but unfortunately there was very little work available for him at the present time. I encouraged him to check back on a monthly basis, which he did. Throughout our phone calls, we got to know one another other fairly well. I mentioned to him that I might have a project for him but that this project was my garage roof. He showed enthusiasm at the possibility of work, and promptly came out to give me an estimate with the scope of work to be completed. I found his price and scope to be of fair value and gave him the authorization to proceed. He asked me for $800 upfront to procure the materials and I agreed to it. The next day he was at my house tearing off the roof and installing the new one; he was in and out in half a day. After inspecting the work and validating that he did supply and install the work outlined in the scope of work, I gave him the remainder of the money. The roof turned out great and he cleaned up the trash and removed all excess materials when he left. A month later he called me again to inquire about my house (I previously mentioned to him to call me in a month or two regarding the roof on the house) and the estimate he gave while working on the garage. I informed him I would have to wait a bit longer to get funds together, and he came back and volunteered addi