Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Conspiracy of attempted Larceny

Status
Not open for further replies.

Norseman

I had a friend who was shopping in a store, and had hid in a dressing room so to steal from the store when the workers had gone home. He was caught in the store and had wanted his friend to pick him up from the store when he was ready. I was with his friend and knew fully of the actions taking place AFTER they had already happened but not prior to them happening hence i didn't PLAN for them to happen. Nonetheless he told the cops everything and they basically said i was involved and i have a warrent out for my arrest.

They are charging me for conspiracy of attempated larceny and attempted larceny.

Nothing was stolen, nor was i seen on the scene of the crime nonetheless I DID know he was stealing but not till after the fact.

Weird story but what sorta charges am i looking at?

Im a student in college, have a full time job and have never had a charge in my life let alone a speeding ticket.

Thanks

That is serious stuff you are looking at. You should definitely get an attorney and plan a defense.

Conspiracy is a crime in itself, so it is not necessary for the underlying crime, here this would be the larceny, to have succeeded. Conspiracy basically is when two or more people agree to perform a crime. Usually the courts look only to some "overt act" the conspirators have performed in furtherance of the crime, like in this case, driving to the store, and the conspiracy already has been committed.

You can also be charged with aiding and abetting the larceny or as it seems to have happened, as an accomplice with attempted larceny.