Family, Other Confused Issues with Spouse's Immigration

Status
Not open for further replies.

tabbycat

I am a US citizen living abroad. I am a career international school teacher (with NJ state certification), and my wife is a green card holder. We have been married for four years, and there has been no end to the problems we are having with her immigration. Before asking my question, I will give background:

My wife received a greencard through family sponsorship when she was 17, and moved the US to go to college. She remained in the country for the next six years, and then due to a family emergency, she went back to Kuwait (where she grew up). She was unable to file her citizenship papers before she left, but she called the helpline at INS/USCIS, and they said that as long as she re-entered the country within the year, it would be no problem, and she could file when she came back. She returned 11 months later and went to an immigration lawyer to file for naturalization, and was told that the information she had received from the person at immigration was false, and that by staying outside the country for over six months, she had lost continuity. We were told there was nothing that we could do at that point to help her situation. This was a big blow, but her greencard was still secure, and we had met and decided to get married in the mean time. She came back to Kuwait, where I was teaching at the time, and we were married a few months later in the US. My wife is also a certified teacher now, and we both live together and teach overseas. This has been a problem, because even though we go home every summer, immigration officials give her a hard time and say that her greencard might be taken away if she does not stay in the US more. She has always said that her husband is a US citizen who has an international career, and that the only way for her to remain in the US is to be separated from him.