College Support

Status
Not open for further replies.

mmcbca02

I am a 21 year old college student. My parents divorced many years ago. I don't live with either of my parents. I have paid for my schooling out of my own pocket since I graduated High School in 2005. Technically, my father is the parent that I last lived with, so he is my primary custodian. I fill out the FAFSA every year and I have to put my parent's incomes with my information even though neither of them help me pay for school. I feel like if I have to use their income with my information, I should be getting some help with school. My dad pays child support for one of my brothers, but nobody gets any money for me, and I would like to know how to get some help with this. I live in Indiana.

This is the Indiana Code that applies to postsecondary educational support:

IC 31-16-6-2
Expenses for child's education and health care; Title IV-D fees
**** Sec. 2. (a) The child support order or an educational support order may also include, where appropriate:
********(1) amounts for the child's education in elementary and secondary schools and at postsecondary educational institutions, taking into account:
************(A) the child's aptitude and ability;
************(B) the child's reasonable ability to contribute to educational expenses through:
****************(i) work;
****************(ii) obtaining loans; and
****************(iii) obtaining other sources of financial aid reasonably
available to the child and each parent; and
************(C) the ability of each parent to meet these expenses;
********(2) special medical, hospital, or dental expenses necessary to serve the best interests of the child; and
********(3) fees mandated under Title IV-D of the federal Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 651 through 669).
****(b) If the court orders support for a child's educational expenses at a postsecondary educational institution under subsection (a), the court shall reduce other child support for that child that: