Arrest, Search, Seizure, Warrant College Student: Resisting Arrest

Status
Not open for further replies.

Collegestudent

September of 2008 I was convicted of Assault-3, Disorderly Conduct, Resisting Arrest and Obstruction Government Administration 2 at about 1 am on a Saturday morning. I am a college student and I am currently 20 years old; I was 19 at the time. I decided to go out on a Friday evening and got extremely intoxicated in which I blacked out and I cannot remember anything that happened that night. Supposedly I was walking in the middle of the road and officers asked me to get out of the road in which I would not. They asked me a second time and I did not. I would not give them identification, nor my name. The officers stated that I "moved" my head back to resist arrest and I "twisted" my body which lead to myself and a officer falling to the ground. I went to court THE SAME NIGHT and the judge sent me to jail with a $500 bail. I got bailed out the next morning.
I hired my first initial lawyer and the DA and ADA made an offer to drop all the charges except the Resisting Arrest. I clearly was not satisfied with the offer. The court got adjourned 2 times with no other results.
I hired another local lawyer. Through this time I went to two counseling services, one on campus and one off. I also brought into the case that when I was younger I had anxiety problems and I was prescribed to Lexapro. We adjourned the case another 2 times and came to the conclusion with the judge that trial is going to have to take place. My second lawyer stepped down and said he was not interested in taking the case to trial and we would have to seek different representation. We presented this to the judge and he said not to jump to that conclusion yet and take the summer off. This was in May of last year.