Civil Right Violation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CriminalNOT

Hello Everyone, this is my first time posting. Kinda wish nobody needed these type of forums, but..... Any way, does any body know how to deal with an over zealous Social Services Investigator when they released private medical information of a minor to another non-family minor in the course of their investigation?

Who released what information to whom? There could be any number of people to whom the investigator could have released certain information.

- Carl

Supplement

I know the information can be released to anyone involved in the investigation connected to DSS and other parties involved in her health and care, but this particular one released the information to another non-family individual that they were questioning that is not related to her health and care, and has no connection to DSS, in regards to my child. It is a blatent violation of HIPAA. As stated in HIPAA, all information obtained in parties reguarding medical information pertaining to an individual shall use reasonable care to PROTECT that information. If the information is used, it is to be used as not to name or otherwise identify an individual. This worker indentified my child by name, disclosed medical information to a NON-family 16 year old about my child, while questioning her about my child. This 16 year old was not privy to the information about my child, but now the child is.

Why was the information disclosed?

And, again, who was this other person? And what is their relationship to you or the child in question? Additionally, not ALL types of medical information might be covered under HIPAA and the release by certain parties to others is not always prohibited. There are situations and circumstances (often governed by state law) that permit this relase. What did the social services agency say about it when you asked them?

- Carl