Criminal Law Charged with petit larceny, case dismissed as ACD given, will the arrest cause proble

Status
Not open for further replies.

lynn

I was charged with petit larceny with 2 items about $70. Since I have no criminal history and being a student, the DA give me ACD after I finished the 40Hrs community service. The case should be therefore sealed and dismissed after 6 months.
The school legal service attorney was telling me ACD means that the case and Finger Print would be sealed and it's like it never happened. But he doesn't have immigration backgruond.
I'm a international student and planned to visit my family during break. Petit larceny is considered CIMT and could result in F1 visa application denial. Some post I read said that immigration law is different and immigration official view ACD as conviction or admission to charge. So will I be rejected for F1 or re-entry at the port? Will they see the detail o case?
NY State law clearly said that ACD is not a conviction but immigration law is different so will the immigration official respect the ACD and considered me as " not convicted a crime"?
Some people said all criminal record ( including sealed one) will be forwarded from FBI to Immigration Bureau so VO would see that when they view my application, is that true?
Or they could only find my arrest record so I should come up with an appropriate explanation to avoid visa denial due to CIMT conviction?

ACD is not sealed its a ruling meaning your case was "dismissed". you need to talk to an immigration Attorney on how if at all this impacts your VISA

I was charged with petit larceny with 2 items about $70. Since I have no criminal history and being a student, the DA give me ACD after I finished the 40Hrs community service. The case should be therefore sealed and dismissed after 6 months.