Changing of custody

Status
Not open for further replies.

tommygirl2525

I have been the custodial parent for the last almost 10 years of my two children. My daughter is 16, my son is 12 1/2. My son may "need" his father's guidance a little more in his high school years. I have been receiving 746.00 in child support for them both as I have primary residence (about 60% me/ 40% visitation their dad roughly).

If my son does go live mostly with his dad in high school, when his sister turns 18, I would imagine the child support he pays me now would cease. I want to make sure that is legal. Also, my main question is, does he have the right to get me to pay him support for my son? I am a remarried stay at home mom with 3 toddlers/ babies and one on the way. I don't have a personal income at this time. I was waiting until my littlest is old enough for kindergarten (my son will be 18 at that time).

I am a high school teacher by profession.

Thanks in advance for any advice pertaining to my state of residence- Florida.

Yes, once the oldest turns 18 CS will stop but he can certainly file for CS on the minor child he has. He is still entitled to it. An income will be inputed for what you are capable of making and your 3 kids you have may come into play too but you'll have to google the guidelines. If he is paying CS to you, he'll probably want it from you and would be very generous not applying for it.