Cease & Desist Order for Distrubution of Counterfeit Software

Status
Not open for further replies.

ctrftkid

Hello,

I received a Cease & Desist letter (via email) from Rosetta Stone. I answered the email, and spoke to a representative of the legal division. He informed me that I could settle through Rosetta Stone, or run the risk of pursuance of a court case.

I informed the representative that I had sold two copies, for 100 USD (total), and he said he would get back to me about resolution. I received a call the next morning requesting the amount of 3000 USD for damages. I only sold two copies, made 100 USD, and am being asked to pay 2000 USD (they have since lowered the settlement amount).

They say I must agree over the phone to a settlement term of payment, and they said they will only send me legal documentation if I agree to their settlement over the phone.

I am a college student, looking to pursue law. I'm doing my own research, but any input about the situation would be appreciated. Any advice about law school would be appreciated also!

Thank You All

I'm not sure how to answer this one... I am assuming you sold pirated versions of Rosetta Stone. I wouldn't admit to anything further. I'd tell them that the demand is ridiculous, you're a student and you couldn't pay even if you wanted to and even if you were guilty. They should decide what they want and try to close the matter entirely. I would not do anything (such as pay them anything) until they agree to give you a release on the matter, stating that it is in settlement of all claims and that there is no admission or claim of wrongdoing.

Best of luck to you. This isn't a good precedent for law school so think about what you're doing before you do it.

@ Babo-RE:what ever happened to the situation with rosetta stone?

Hey,