Can they really do that?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LittleOleMe

I worked as a sales executive for a company for almost 6 years and resigned in early November. I gave 3 weeks notice however they "shut me down" within hours of my resignation. When I received my exit letter from the company, I was told that I would be paid commissions for any sales up to and including the day of my resignation in accordance with the normal commission pay out schedule (15th of the month, 45 days following the end of a month). Fast forward a month... I was supposed to have been paid commissions totaling over $4K yesterday but was not paid and did not receive any communication from the company in regards to not being paid. When I emailed the HR department I was told I'd have to wait for a response so I emailed the General Counsel for the company asking for his help. I received an email back today letting me know that they withheld all owed commissions due to accounts that I have sold over the last year that had not paid their invoices but that I have already been paid commissions on. I need to know if I have a case to pursue this payment. Here are a couple of things to factor in (I believe):

1. An email was sent out prior to my leaving letting my sales team know that we had thru the end of December to help collect on past due accounts and that "after December" they would start "clawing back" those commissions.
2. The company withheld commissions from me but not from sales people still employed but who would also be responsible for paying back commissions as detailed to the entire team.
3. The company has not communicated with me directly as to which of my accounts were past due, what the amount was, etc. that accounted for why my commissions were withheld.