1. Free Legal Help, Legal Forms and Lawyers. TheLaw.com has been providing free legal assistance online since 1995. Our most popular destinations for legal help are below. It only takes a minute to join our legal community!

    Dismiss Notice

Can I be evicted against my will, without notice in West Virginia? Rent, Utilities

Discussion in 'Living in, Use of the Premises' started by Guest, Apr 17, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Guest

    Guest Law Topic Starter Guest

    I live in West Virginia and am subletting a room for $175 per month. I have only been at this adress for six weeks but recently got into an argument with the people I am renting from and they told me that "unless I pay them in advance for one last month (to find a new apartment), I have to get out on the 1st of May." I told them that this was illegal and they could not evict me lawfully unless getting eviction papers from the courthouse, and give me a full 30 days notice after that point to get out. They responded, "You didn't sign the lease, you have no rights. You can't even prove you live here!" I know for sure that the last part is B.S. because all of my furniture is in the room I'm renting, along with my clothes and personal possessions. I also have the front door key AND a key to my room. I have also received mail at this adress, and my place of work has it on file. Also, I have text messages from the people I'm paying making reference to my living here.

    All of that being said, here are my questions:

    Can I be legally forced out of the door without eviction papers being filed?

    Also, the people I am renting from have leased this apartment, they do not actually own it. Do I still have rights even though the home-owner did not lease to me directly? (I assume there must still be protective measures in place since I have paid for the room already)
     
  2. army judge

    army judge Super Moderator

    Messages:
    33,733
    Likes Received:
    5,464
    Trophy Points:
    113

    A legal eviction is the only legal option they have.
    You don't need a signed lease to be a tenant, but I sure hope you have RECEIPTS to PROVE you've been paying that $175/month.

    If you're smart, you're better off leaving before they decide to handle things another way.

    Read these sites:

    http://www.thelpa.com/free/WVtenantrights.pdf

    http://www.lawv.net/node/1166

    http://www.landlordguidance.com/eviction-notice-forms/west-virginia-eviction/

    http://foreclosure.laws.com/eviction-process-in-west-virginia



    http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclope...quirements-terminate-month-month-tenancy.html

    http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclope...ination-nonpayment-rent-other-rent-rules.html
     

Share This Page

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.