Other Criminal Charges & Offenses Can I be charged?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Helpp32

I went out with some people from my soccer team for the first time tonight. I didn't realize how crazy these people were and one of them threw a full Gatorade bottle out my car window at another car on a single lane road for "fun". The car was going about 40 MPH. The noise was LOUD;And the car immediately pulled over. The car directly behind me did a U turn and pulled up next to that car.... I'm sure to give my license plate number. I'm a straight a student applying to college and have never been in trouble (especially with the law!) and I'm freaking out that the damage was severe and the owner of the car will press charges. I'm aware this is very serious as the driver could have crashed because of it, and I'm Sure it's a serious crime. Can I be charged for driving/owning the vehicle? Thanks!

Yes, it is possible the police will come calling. If they do, you will have to decide if you want to stay quiet and risk being prosecuted or sued for the damage (if any), or, cooperate and name the offender.

If you are that worried about it you can get in front of it by going to the police and telling them what happened.

What could I be charged with? Is this leaving the scene of an accident?

The statute under which the alleged miscreant that actually THREW the bottle at the passing car could be charged reads, as follows: