Bad Ref Caused loss of Job

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellyflower

Hi Guys i really need some advise.

I have been working for 3 months as a contractor at this company and was due to start as a perm member of staff as of 1st sept. They had to reference me to join the company, they were in the financial service industry. My references have come back I had a phone call from my agency to say that my contract had been terminated and they will not be able to offer me a permant position at the company due to this. They did not tell me anymore, but the references were confidential. I am unaware of the content of the reference but have been told it serious enought for the company not to employ me. Please help me!

what can i do?

There's not much we can do.

Bad references are not illegal. Only FALSE references are illegal.

Let me give you an example. If Joe comes in late three times a week, leaves early, does his work carelessly or not at all, and quits without notice, his employer is legally entitled to give all that information out to a prospective employer who calls for a reference, and if that means that Joe doesn't get the job, that's too bad, so sad; Joe brought it on himself.

If the employer honestly, truly believes that Sally did a poor job handling the Anderson account, she may legally say so to any prospective employer who calls for a reference on Sally. Even if the Andersons thought the world of Sally and think she did a terrific job on the account. The manager didn't think so and it's the manager who is being asked. (Of course, Sally is free to suggest that the prospective employer also call the Andersons). The manager is telling the truth as the manager sees it.