autobody work

Status
Not open for further replies.

jstgreg1

I am a qualified auto body technician with certificates and college degree. Also have 4 years experience in the field. A year ago, answering a Craigslist labor gig, a woman wanted some bodywork done to repair some minor damage including some spot / panel paint blending over the repaired areas. Compensation was worked out in a part cash part trade for some tools. The total value of trade plus cash was about 350.00. This was about a 3 rd of a body shop quote. I procede with repairs, and I received trade part of the deal. Materials were also supposed to be supplied by her. I paid for the supplies in hopes for reimbursement as agreed. Work was done in her garage. All was good but the clear coat was more orange peel than factory. So I wet sanded it and applied more clear. This time there was some kind of contamination in the clear coat. Easily remedied however, she wanted to take a break from it and would call me at a later date to fix.
Several months later, she is now wanting to take it to a shop for completion and has refused my offer to finish the job. Its her property and she has that right. But she also is demanding that I pay for it. I just don't think that I should being that I was not even finished with it and for the labor and cash out of my pocket for the materials, I wont be reimbursed for. Am I wrong in the analogy that; all one needs to do for a free paint job is hire someone to do the work, make them stop and claim its botched, then take it to a shop and make the person who "botched" pay for a complete paint job? Not sure how to handle this.

Only a court can order you to pay. Even if that we're to happen, the court won't force you to pay her. She'd receive a judgment. Think of the judgment being akin to an IOU, except the court said UO-SHE. LOL

I'd ignore her THREATS. Face it, very few reputable people frequent KILLERSLIST, except to laugh at the ads.