1. Free Legal Help, Legal Forms and Lawyers. TheLaw.com has been providing free legal assistance online since 1995. Our most popular destinations for legal help are below. It only takes a minute to join our legal community!

    Dismiss Notice

At what age can a child be left home alone in Florida??

Discussion in 'Other Family Law Matters' started by momof2znsles, Oct 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. momof2znsles

    momof2znsles Law Topic Starter New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was wondering at what age in Florida can your child be left home alone? I have a 10 and 8 year old. For four weeks I have training. From 9-430 my kids get home from school at 345. So they would be here by themselves for about an hour. Am I aloud to do that by Florida law??
     
  2. irish223

    irish223 Moderator

    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I've found two references that give different answers. One says the age is 12 (although it's an 8 year old article). The other says there is no age limitation.
    http://www.businessweek.com/smallbiz/content/oct2000/sb20001025_473.htm
    http://circuit8.org/family/FAQ.html
    I doubt that there would be a problem for 1 hour unless someone reports it to CPS, or unless there is an injury or accident during your absence. However, if you can find a teenager, neighbor, or family member to supervise your children during that time, you wouldn't have to worry.
     

Share This Page

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.