A case against a CUNY school for taking longer to finish?

evlesoa

Jurisdiction
New York
I think it's negligence, somehow, but I could be wrong.

Here's the situation: I am a transfer student. I have about 140 or so credits. 60 come from a school abroad, 54 come from a school within the cuny system. I managed to transfer 54, but out of the 60, I only got 12. That's fine. Here's where there's a problem: I was, more or less, told by an advisor that I should be able to finish within a year, provided I take all the classes and hit the 120 credit requirement. The time frame is important because I have an ailing family member overseas and I need to go back to take care of them as well as take care of some paperwork or risk losing property to the state. Today, however, I'm told that there are many requirements I haven't met despite being able to reach the credit requirement. They expect me to do an internship, a culmination project, a management class that is a pre-req for the culmination project (a senior thesis basically), a team project, and some other classes, but none of this was really laid down on me until I started hearing rumors and started looking into it. All of this is obviously not doable in the time-frame that I have. I feel a bit cheated. I think there's nothing I can do about this situation. I also have to work to support my spouse who cannot work, and it seems that I may have to drop out next semester as a result.

Is there anything the school did wrong, or did I set myself up for failure and it's my fault? I intend to now transfer out when I can and finish abroad, where my family is, and this time hopefully with more realistic expectations.

Any positive input would be helpful, or just tell me I'm wrong but please, no negative criticism. Thank you.