Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft 1st time offense larceny 6th degree

K

KParadee

Jurisdiction
Connecticut
Today I was given a summon to appear in court for a 6th degree larceny charge. This is over $20 in merchandise from a Walmart. I have never been in any type of trouble, not even so much as a no seat belt ticket. I have no idea what to expect in court in a couple of weeks, so am looking for any suggestions or help. I am not sure if I should be trying to find an attorney or not. Pretty much, I do not want to go into this blind. This was a first and definitely last thing for me. I am a full time college student earning around $700 a month at most, and was just desperate. In the moment of being desperate, I made an awful decision that I do not want following me for the rest of my life. I can not begin to go into how embarrassed I am. I am working towards earning my degree in psychology, and I am so afraid of this affecting me being able to get a job in this profession once I complete school. Please any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.

When you go to court, dress neatly & be polite.

You need to discuss with a lawyer. If you cannot afford one, when you go to court plead not guilty & ask for a public defender. (A PD is a lawyer) You can then discuss with him/her. In Ct. you can sometimes get the charges dropped & your record protected for restitution & community service.