Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft 18 y/o first time shoplifting caught - what happens next?

g7393415

I got caught shoplifting today and it is my first offense. I was caught lifting $241 and the police handcuffed/fingerprinted/took a picture of me at the station.
My court date to plead guilty/not is in 2 weeks. What happens next?

My family cannot afford an attorney/lawyer. When is the appropriate time to ask for a court appointed one? - when I give my plea? Or before?
Also will an appointed attorney/lawyer (to be honest, I don't know anything about the law. I don't know what the difference is between the two people) help me? Or sway my decisions to how the state/court would want it to be? Are court-appointed ones free? Or just cheaper?

How should I plea? Again, this is my first time getting caught shoplifting, but in my bag they (the store who caught me, not the police) found clothes I had lifted from a previous store. The store that caught me only said that they would be returning those clothes. But would I get a greater charge? The police don't seem to know about the clothes, however.

How many years do I wait until I can expunge my record? Will I definitely get something on my record? What is the usual charge for something like this?

Sorry for the questions but I am extremely nervous.

Lastly, how should I dress for court? I am a female.

Sorry - also will it affect that I admitted to stealing at the store? They asked me yes/no questions and I answered them honestly, and they have video footage. Also when the police came, he asked in a friendly tone if it was for personal use or to sell, and i told him that it was for personal use. I don't know much about the law so I just tried to be honest but answered in short sentences. Will this come back against me?

I am a Retail Theft consultant and answer questions like yours daily.
.Dress professional
.Plead not guilty and request public defender