Can I be terminated because of my wife's custody agreement?

Scott C

Jurisdiction
Washington
I work as a software engineering apprentice at AWS. I am part of a special program that trains veterans and under-served populations to become a part of the organization with a formal education. Our CEO had a change of heart about allowing people to work from home and it is now an official mandate enforced by HR. The stipulations of my conversion as a permanent employee stipulate that I must relocate if it is required of me. On May 15th of 2024 I would be expected to move to Seattle, WA from Houston, TX to continue working for AWS.

My wife has a split custody agreement with her ex-husband over their son (8 yrs). I have been informed by a family attorney who works in litigations that I would need to convince a court that moving our family to Seattle would be for the best interest of the child. I don't find it very likely that I would be able to convince a jury of that over time with his father. If we lose in litigation I will lose my savings and I will be out of a job. I also don't believe that my wife's ex would be amenable to any sort of mediation.

This is the best job I've ever had and I feel like I have a really bright future here if I wasn't forced to leave. I feel like I am being forced to accept an ultimatum that I have no power to resolve myself without undue financial burden, threat of termination, and restriction of my own rights/opportunities.

With that being said, I want to know if there is any sort of precedent or statute that forbids a company from terminating an employee (or their role) for complying with a custody agreement that I have say in?

I feel like I am being forced to accept an ultimatum

You are.

That's how work works. Surprised you didn't know that.