Yet another eviction question...

Status
Not open for further replies.

sgoff

First of all, I sincerely ask everyone to not treat me like I'm stupid (I got the whole "You're just a tenant, we shouldn't even be talking to you, ha ha ha" type of attitude from Mrlandlord.com so I'm praying for a better, less hostile outcome here). Here's my situation:

I have been renting a 3 bedroom house from my landlords since April of 2004. The other two housemates that moved in with me at that time have been long gone. The landlords have given me the a-okay to go ahead and rent out the other 2 rooms if I wish to do so, so I don't have to pay the entire rent by myself. So, that's the basis of everything.

My current situation is that I had two housemates move in on January 15, 2006. No, I didn't pre-screen them (credit check, background check, etc.) because I've never had to do that before, although I should have. Mistake number 1, I know.

One of the housemates has continuously been giving me problems: She recently brought a dog into the house (it's not hers but there is a "no dogs" rule between me and my landlords, which this girl knows of, and I don't want to get evicted because she decided to break the rules). She didn't speak to anyone, at least not me, first and she refuses to do anything about it even though I spoke to her about it this morning. She has an attitude that is kind of like, "Well, it's my way or the highway". She's repeatedly touched my personal items, which I've repeatedly asked her not to...and it's gotten to the point where I'm miserable in my own home.

I've read in some Landlord/Tenant books that I can evict her since she is not on the rental agreement (and she doesn't have any kind of rental agreement whatsoever...mistake number 2). And she pays her share of the rent directly to my landlords.

Am I in the right to give her a 30-day notice to terminate tenancy? Or am I in for some legal troubles if I do?