Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Will I go to jail for a first offense larceny with a clean record?

Kr6432

Jurisdiction
Georgia
I was on a military base where I found an open packaged make up product with no price and was obviously used not sure if it was the sample or not either way I should've asked. I put it in my purse and left. Loss prevention caught up with me called the military police and I was released after being charged with larceny. The product was under $50. I cooperated with them the entire time and they just let me go after signing a document saying I would show up to court when I got the date in the mail. This is my first offense I have nothing on my record and have not done anything like this. My question is when I return for my court date what is most likely to happen. If I were going to go to jail wouldn't they had already taken me? I am a college student and work part time.

You'll PROBABLY be convicted, required to take an honesty or ethics class (sometimes both or something similar), pay fines and costs (don't ask, but you'll be told), required to do about 80-120 hours of community service, put on probation for six months to a year, and that's about it.

You'll also receive a demand to pay a FEE letter from AAFES, MCX, N-BX.
You pay that, too, to help this thing quietly die.

Yes, you'll have a federal conviction, sometimes it'll be bargained down to very low level insignificant DISORDERLY PERSON charge.

You keep doing what you were told to do, and you can avoid jail.

Thank you I deeply appreciate your response.

You'll PROBABLY be convicted, required to take an honesty or ethics class (sometimes both or something similar), pay fines and costs (don't ask, but you'll be told), required to do about 80-120 hours of community service, put on probation for six months to a year, and that's about it.

You'll also receive a demand to pay a FEE letter from AAFES, MCX, N-BX.
You pay that, too, to help this thing quietly die.