What do I need to do to be Hipaa compliant?

Brandons404

Jurisdiction
Missouri
I'm a software engineer looking to build an application in the medical field. A big focus of the application will be that it is Hipaa compliant. I am unsure about the steps I need to take in order to ensure I make the application Hipaa compliant after lots of research, and figured I should ask an expert instead.

Does my app need to be audited? Do I need some kind of approval, or do I just attempt to build it in a way to avoid common hacks and databreaches?

Thanks.

HHH.gov has comprehensive explanations of HIPAA (all caps), an acronym for the Health Insurance Portability and Accounting Act, not to be confused with the often-mistaken little creature caled Hippa (Hippa - Wikipedia).

Summary of the HIPAA Security Rule | HHS.gov

That page has links to the federal statutes in addition to explanations.

Keep in mind that state laws may have additional requirements.

If you intend to make a lot of money with your software, it would be a good idea to have it reviewed by an appropriate attorney.

I'm a software engineer looking to build an application in the medical field. A big focus of the application will be that it is Hipaa compliant. I am unsure about the steps I need to take in order to ensure I make the application Hipaa compliant after lots of research, and figured I should ask an expert instead.

Does my app need to be audited? Do I need some kind of approval, or do I just attempt to build it in a way to avoid common hacks and databreaches? I would like Hipaa compliance to be one of the selling points.

Thanks.
HHH.gov has comprehensive explanations of HIPAA (all caps), an acronym for the Health Insurance Portability and Accounting Act, not to be confused with the often-mistaken little creature caled Hippa (Hippa - Wikipedia).

Summary of the HIPAA Security Rule | HHS.gov

That page has links to the federal statutes in addition to explanations.