Website made, client won't pay.

Status
Not open for further replies.

redhed123

Ok, so this is my first big project, and my first with a contract. I'm a programmer by trade, and picked this up on the side. We have a contract, made by him, my first mistake. I'll try to keep this short. Contract says we follow the laws of NJ. I am in NY. There is a binding arbitration clause that does not name a specific arbitrator. He outright says he will not pay the balance ($6k). I have already received $4k as down payment. The website, as loosely outlined in the contract, is about 95% complete, and the "termination of contract" notice by email came as a complete surprise. He claims it is because it is 4 months late (and the last month of that, he has been dodging my calls and emails). The contract states an "estimated" due date, and numerous emails after that due date never mention it again. We verbally agreed the date to finish was flexible. So I tell him he has to pay or I'm taking it further. He basically says "fine, go to arbitration, but give me back my $4k deposit". Also, one of my many mistakes, is that he was the one paying for hosting, and therefore has the code still. He has the working website and my money.

*big sigh* :(

I think ultimately I will go to arbitration, which I had never heard of before this contract. But I want to know what steps I can take before going that far (if any). Please help.

-Utterly Depressed and Desperate for Help

Don't worry so much about this and calm down. Everything will be OK. :) It's only money and a very small amount in comparison to what you will earn. :)