Alcohol & Drugs: MIP, MIC, Intoxication Waiving Probation

Status
Not open for further replies.

IntrepidJW

Hello.

I was convicted of a misdeameanor in Hamilton County Indiana. Retroactive to March 8th, I am on Probation for 1 Year, and I have lost my license for 6 months.

The biggest mistake I made, was not retaining a lawyer, as I pled guilty, and did not understand my rights.

(Possession charge of Marijuana, first ever offense, less than a joint, small bang box found)

I am an independent business owner, and I have suffered a major financial set back due to the fact that I can no longer drive, as that was the "bread and butter" of my income.

I talked to a lawyer about a hardship, but he said that due to the fact that I had an OWI in 2001, and received a hardship then, that I cannot qualify for another one.

Afterwards, another lawyer told me that I COULD get a hardship, but I would need $1500 up front and a couple hundred dollars in legal fees.

The catch 22 is how do I pay a lawyer for a hardship when I am having a great difficulty making income?

I am now 7 weeks behind on my rent and in danger of being kicked out. My head gasket has blown on my van, and I have no one to transport me at any given time.

The county that I got arrested in, is 40 minutes away, and I have to be there monthly for a "urine screen".

To top it all off, I have to pay the court $600 in fees, and then another $450 for a drug class.

I am suffering from an extreme, extreme financial hardship, and I do not know how I am going to:

A: Satisfy the requirements of the Court
B: Keep my current bills paid

I am also, close, to $40,000 in business debt and have debtors hounding me.

Not to mention the major one, the IRS.

The kicker is that everything was starting to take off good before I got my "possession" charge.

I shouldn't have consented to the search, so I have been told, but again, I didn't know my rights.