Voir Dire: What's it to YOU?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rachelgarcia

I'm a graduate student working on a project about voir dire. I'm researching codes of procedure, government codes, etc. to get a handle on the legal considerations behind it. What I'm really interested in is getting some feedback from legal professionals who actually participate in jury selection...what are your major considerations when you select a jury (i.e., demographics)? are you asking relatively formatted questions, or do you ask follow-up questions as needed? and where are the opportunities for improvement in the voir dire process as you see them? Any and all comments would be welcome; I can read about the process all day long, but I'd love to hear some comments/opinions from hands-on legal professionals. Thanks!

Originally posted by rachelgarcia
I'm a graduate student working on a project about voir dire. I'm researching codes of procedure, government codes, etc. to get a handle on the legal considerations behind it. What I'm really interested in is getting some feedback from legal professionals who actually participate in jury selection...what are your major considerations when you select a jury (i.e., demographics)? are you asking relatively formatted questions, or do you ask follow-up questions as needed? and where are the opportunities for improvement in the voir dire process as you see them? Any and all comments would be welcome; I can read about the process all day long, but I'd love to hear some comments/opinions from hands-on legal professionals. Thanks!