Underage, with a diploma, and an unjust situation.

Status
Not open for further replies.

TylaRynn

Hi,
I am seventeen, and have graduated early. The trouble is, I graduated early to begin attending college full time at the local community college (with full intent to transfer to a nearby college after obtaining my Associate of Arts degree). However my mother has been a thorn in my side regarding college. Several ground rules have been laid out, and I feel that they violate my rights as a minor, (yes I know they are limited but still exist). Here are a few of the rules she has set out.

1.I must obtain either a full time or two part time jobs.
2.I must show my mother the paycheck and work schedule for said job(s).
3.I must pay $300 per month for the two months I am not in school (February and March ), totaling $600.
I have the first two paychecks to total the first $300 and one paycheck to pay the second $300.
4.If I do not attend college full time, I must continue to pay rent.
5.I must walk at my high school graduation ceremony.
6.I may not fail classes at college, or else I must discontinue attendance until I am 18.
7.The consequence for failing to comply is instantaneous phone and house grounding, until I either comply or turn eighteen.

I know most of these sound not unreasonable, but failure to get a job before the end of the month will result in no college now, as will simply failing a class. Furthermore, she will not allow me to choose the place in which I pay rent, I must continue to live in this house until I am eighteen, although I have two homes readily available.
I do have a job, though it would be considered very meager earnings. Please make no mistake, I love my mother, but this I believe is the straw to break the camel's back.

Please help,
TylaRynn from Oregon