Stop Payment

Status
Not open for further replies.

huraver

I am a small business owner in the construction industry here in Texas. Recently I hired subcontractor/friend to work on a concrete project or to more or less work me over. He received a check for $2000 to get started. Things didn't quite go well from the beginning and I had to take care of the demolition. Three weeks passed and still no concrete, not all was his fault, the weather did play a slight role. I talked to him about it and he assured me things were getting back on track and would have the concrete finished in the next few days, but financially he needed a $1000 more to proceed. Like a fool I wrote out the check. I always want to think the best of people! The next day he was a no show again. I called and called and he simply turned off the phones. So I drove to his house where at 3pm he was napping. I told him things were not working out, terminated his work and asked for the check returned. I've already deposited it, he told me, which I knew was not the truth. Fine I say, write me a check for the thousand and well call it all even. He tells me he will when the check clears. Unacceptable!!! Now he turns ugly and ask me to leave, gives me the old f off and die. So be it, but I tell him he has left me no choice but to put a stop payment on the check and I left. After a few harassing and threating phone calls to me I place the stop payment.