Statute of Limitations

V. Johnson

Jurisdiction
Arizona
On 10-23-2000 I entered into a rental agreement with the State of AZ, Dept. of Transportation and rented a property that they had acquired in the process of buying land for a new freeway.

On about 10-18-2001, I fell behind on my rent and entered into a written acknowledgement of the indebtedness on 02-06-2002.

On 12-09-2015, I received a summons for breach of Rental Agreement and the Repayment agreement.

My question is: Does the Statute of Limitations for Breach of Contract (6 Yrs) apply to this case and if so, how do I go about filing a Motion to Dismiss for this case?

I have to respond by tomorrow to be within the 20 day time frame.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

You have to raise the Statute of Limitations as an affirmative defense in your answer to the complaint. There may be other defenses that you would have to raise.

I have some experience with AZ courts (though I am not a lawyer and I don't give legal advice) so answer the following important questions one by one:

How much are you being sued for?

What court and location? Show me what it says at the top of the summons and complaint.

Have you lived in any other states between 2002 and the present? Provide the inclusive dates.

What, exactly, does the complaint allege? Quote the numbered allegations word for word, redacting any identifying information.

What, exactly, was written into your acknowledgement of the debt? It would help if you quote it word for word but without the identifying information.

If you can't, or won't, follow my instructions exactly as specified, then the best advice I can give you is either get to a law library today and look for samples or get yourself to a lawyer's office and write him a retainer check.

On 10-23-2000 I entered into a rental agreement with the State of AZ, Dept. of Transportation and rented a property that they had acquired in the process of buying land for a new freeway.