Statute of Limitations - Demand Letter extends?

John Hill

Jurisdiction
Tennessee
Case details: I was hit in TN (I am a resident) by a driver from IL in late June of 2018. I sent a demand letter last month for injury and other costs and have received a low counter-offer this week. I plan to negotiate, but I am concerned now about the statute of limitation ending and the insurance company ceasing to communicate. Can they do this or stall on the paperwork until the accident/statute date has passed? What would be my best option to ensure I receive the settlement I am looking for?

I would like to avoid an attorney as my case is not high value. Thank you.

Case details: I was hit in TN (I am a resident) by a driver from IL in late June of 2018. I sent a demand letter last month for injury and other costs and have received a low counter-offer this week. I plan to negotiate, but I am concerned now about the statute of limitation ending and the insurance company ceasing to communicate. Can they do this or stall on the paperwork until the accident/statute date has passed? What would be my best option to ensure I receive the settlement I am looking for?

I would like to avoid an attorney as my case is not high value. Thank you.
Yes, they can stall. You MUST file suit before the time limit expires, as you will be barred from filing suit after that.

I was hit in TN (I am a resident) by a driver from IL in late June of 2018.

I assume you're talking about a car accident and that you were not personally hit by this person.

I sent a demand letter last month

Why did you wait nearly a year to do this?

I am concerned now about the statute of limitation ending and the insurance company ceasing to communicate. Can they do this or stall on the paperwork until the accident/statute date has passed?