state usury law: does it apply to late fee on lease payment?

Status
Not open for further replies.

richtaira

Hi all, I have a pretty basic question. I am an accountant for my employer locatd in California and from time to time get invoices from our leasing compoanies that include late fees reflecting delayed monthly equipment lease payments in the prior month. Depending on leases, the late fee can be $150 for the motnhly lease payment of, say, $1,700, just becase the company missed the due date by one or two days. In this situation, is the state usury law potentially applicable? or is the law sorely for loan type of transactions? I am not familiar with these laws but it seems to me, in a sense, it can depend on whether this "late fee" is considered as a "finance charge" or a "fixed penalty." If it is considered as a finance charge, $150 for one or two days delay for $1,700 should be sertainly outrageous, and I would be inclined to say that the late fee should be prorated based on the number of days for whcih the payment was delayed. Otherwise, financially speaking, it would be pretty stupid to pay one or two days after the due date. One would rather delay 30 days once s/he would know that the payment would miss the due date. Your sharing knowledge on this would be much appreciated.
:)

It may very well be usury but the law varies from state to state.

It may pay to challenge the late "fee" and see what happens. After all, it seems that having an amicable relationship is not the lessor's concern.

Thank you for the response. After posting my question, I happned to read something about collection laws, and there explains some implications of state usury laws. It appears that usury laws only apply to financial transactions especially lending/borrowing, and the situation that described in my question maight be a little bit outside of the scope of application of the usury laws.... :confused:

Originally posted by richtaira