Speeding ticket in Va 80 in a 70 but live NC.

Status
Not open for further replies.

TTaylor

I was given a ticket for going 80 in a 70. I have no points on my license in NC. I am college student and broke. Should I get a lawyer to get this demised or reduced so it will not effect my NC record or can I go to court myself. This is my first ticket and I called a lawyer and he was going to charge me 500 plus fine and fees which amounted to $700. I am a poor college student. Could I go to court myself and if so what do I ask? It was my first time driving my dads car back to college and I was not used to it. What do I plead and ask for? Also being from NC and the ticket is in VA how does that effect my driving record in NC?

I was given a ticket for going 80 in a 70. I have no points on my license in NC. I am college student and broke. Should I get a lawyer to get this demised or reduced so it will not effect my NC record or can I go to court myself. This is my first ticket and I called a lawyer and he was going to charge me 500 plus fine and fees which amounted to $700. I am a poor college student. Could I go to court myself and if so what do I ask? It was my first time driving my dads car back to college and I was not used to it. What do I plead and ask for? Also being from NC and the ticket is in VA how does that effect my driving record in NC?

http://www.homillerlaw.typepad.com/

80 in VA could be (or become) a VERY big problem.

Take a close look at your ticket.

It doesn't just say speeding, does it?

It likely reads, "Reckless Driving."

It it does read "Reckless Driving" it is a Class 1 misdemeanor.

That's a much bigger deal in VA.

Don't just sign the ticket and pay it.

If you do, you will eventually have a criminal record.

You might want to call a few lawyers in the county where you received your citation.

Google (THAT COUNTY, VA traffic defense lawyers) [or a similar phrase]

Call a four or five, discuss the fines and options available to you.