Repairs, Maintenance Smelling neighbors cigarete smoke and other things

Mute9003

Jurisdiction
Washington
i live in low income appartments and for last few months i have been smelling whatever the neighbors are doing upstairs.
Especially cigarette smoke. It literally feels like someone smoked in my bathroom, not just a tiny bit of smell.
I wrote them few emails. Even threatened to withold rent or hire an outside professional to fix it. But they dismissed it saying that its not an emergency.
Even my kid complained few times about the smoke
These are smoking apartments btw.
correct me if im wrong but each unit should still be sealed off from the other unit as far as ventilation
I cant really move anywhere at the moment since this is all i can afford and everything else is more expensive. Or much worse condition.
Im on a month to month lease and not sure if they can kick me out if i take any serious action against them.
Im not very good with the legal system in usa. dont really understand how to handle small disputes like this.

correct me if im wrong but each unit should still be sealed off from the other unit as far as ventilation

OK, you are wrong. There is no such law. It would also be very hard to do. So hard that if it were done the apartments might no longer be low-income apartments.

Your best option is to start planning a move to a new location. You have nothing to threaten anyone with. Trying to do so will only annoy your landlord and possibly make things harder for you. Keep it friendly and move out as soon as possible.

i live in low income appartments and for last few months i have been smelling whatever the neighbors are doing upstairs.
Especially cigarette smoke. It literally feels like someone smoked in my bathroom, not just a tiny bit of smell.
I wrote them few emails. Even threatened to withold rent or hire an outside professional to fix it. But they dismissed it saying that its not an emergency.
Even my kid complained few times about the smoke