Situation with Roomate

Zagriel

Jurisdiction
Michigan
I have a situation with a roomate, which I have been lving with this individual for over 3 years, now at this point I know I should have wised up by now, but wishful think and me being taken advantage of easily. I am at the current situation and dillema I am at right now.

Lets start when we signed a new lease when our former roommate moved out. This was back in 2015, at the time she warned me to move out as well but wouldn't specifiy as to why she was saying this to me. Over the past 3 years I have come to realize why because there was a situation back in the mid part of July that happened. Now prior to this, I would ask him money for his share of the electric bill and internet because we both agreed that we would equally pay both portions of these bills. Well until recently he has never gave me any money towards any of these bills.

Now the situation back in 2016, he had a stroke in June and was out of work from June to late part of December of that early going into early Janurary of 2017. Prior to this I was in college, and I had to take out college loans to help pay for my housing expenses, he was not paying anything towards the rent at this time, nor again nothing towards rent. It got so bad to a point during the months from August to October, that we were taken to court on 2 separate occasions. I think he finally realized at a point that hey...I should contribute some of my short term disability money towards rent. Which out of 4,500 owed he thought 800 would be sufficient. With damages he down towards the property.....I still have a settlement of I believe around 3,500-5,000 against me and himself....but tbh I didnt see him as a defendent on the case when I got a letter in the mail. Anyway