Shoplifting

Status
Not open for further replies.

princessbella

I live in Las Vegas, NV. I got caught shoplifting at a Smith's Grocery, $70 worth of makeup. Nothing was opened, used or damaged and I gave it all back. I did everything they asked and was respectful. This is my first time shoplifting and I never been arrested. I have a clean record... Only 2 traffic tickets I am already taking care of. The cops were not called but before they let me go they took down all my info, did not take any picture, but had me sign 2 papers. The trespassing one and a confession of judgment. Like i said it's my first time and i was scared that if I didnt do what the asked they would call the cops and I would get arrested. So after I signed the papers he was holding it in his hand and walked me out. All he said was he didn't call the cops. I did not get any copies of the papers. He also told me I would receive a letter in the mail. I'm still waiting for it. He said if I don't pay any fine I owe or don't appear in court there will be a warrant out for my arrest. I'm a single mom of 2 and unemployed. I don't own anything and times are really hard for me. My father recently passed away and I don't get any kind of help or child sapport from the dads of my 2 kids. I'm depressed and extremley stressed out. What's going to happen if I get a letter in the mail? Will this stay on my record? Please I need some good and helpful advice because like I said this is my first time ever getting into legal trouble like this and I have no idea what I'm doing. I'd really appreciate some good advice. Thank you!!

The letter you receive will likely ask you to pay a couple hundred dollars in penalties.