Same trademark name, same class number, different category, possible?

Status
Not open for further replies.

iwantmymark

My jurisdiction is: USA United States

MY UNREGISTERED MARK:
Fictional example of mark is "@@@@".
I have been using it for 15 years.
Regrettably did not file for a trademark earlier.

PROBLEM:
There is now an existing single category mark with the USPTO.
"Class 38", category "Data Transmission"
Incontestable.

Can I still file for my mark in the same geographical area,
"Class 38" category "Service Provider"?
if not this perhaps something else under Class 38.
New application?

I maintain computer systems, they write programs. We do not offer any of the same products and have never conflicted with each other.

So if they registered a mark for their company name @@@@ under class 38 does that block EVERYONE else from registering a mark for the same @@@@ name but under a different category for class 38?

Is it the CLASS NUMBER that is important or the CLASS CATEGORY?
Can 2 exact mark names share the same Class number for different categories?

Has anyone ever seen 2 names share the same class number by choosing different categories.

It's kind of not fair since the business that filed the mark only did so to block me and I never learned about it until it was too late. And they do not even do business in my country, the USA. They only registered the mark here to prevent worldwide competition. That's why they only filed 1 category, just to block me.

So did they block the whole class by filling 1 category or do I still have a chance. Please be honest. I have no legal experience. Anyone?? Thank you.