Representing someone

Status
Not open for further replies.
New York DMV Traffic Violations court

Guys

I plan to represent a friend at a court hearing for a speeding ticket. She is a law-abiding citizen but it so happened that she was in a rush on this day to get to a doctor's appt for her mom. Of course, I can't use that as an argument in court

I have a question about representation though - I'm not a legal attorney by profession. Can I still represent her? I basically want to present all the facts of the case and ask a few questions of the police officer. Do I have to fill in any forms, etc or just show up with her at court?

Thanks

You're not an attorney.
You're not licensed to practice law in NY State.
Even if you were a lawyer, but not licensed to practice law in NY, you wouldn't be allowed to represent her unless you filed a pro hac vici motion.
But, only lawyers can file such a motion.
In short, no, you won't be allowed to represent her in court.
But, you can coach her at home to represent herself in court.
Or, she can take an online traffic school course, and the whole incident gets wiped away.
If she goes to court, it's a crap shoot, and she'll probably lose anyway.
Fewer than 5% of cited motorists prevail in traffic court.
And, most of those are represented by lawyers.
Traffic school works 100% of the time, if you do the work!

New York DMV Traffic Violations court

Guys

I plan to represent a friend at a court hearing for a speeding ticket. She is a law-abiding citizen but it so happened that she was in a rush on this day to get to a doctor's appt for her mom. Of course, I can't use that as an argument in court

I have a question about representation though - I'm not a legal attorney by profession. Can I still represent her? I basically want to present all the facts of the case and ask a few questions of the police officer. Do I have to fill in any forms, etc or just show up with her at court?

Thanks