Question about pleading the 5th

LostManAbroad

Jurisdiction
US Federal Law
Firstly, I am not a lawyer and don't have a legal problem. I love watching the legal drama Suits and while watching it I often google terms that they use so that I can better understand what I am watching, i.e. I've looked up things like the meaning of the word fiduciary, what a TRO is, things like that.

One thing that you see a lot in the show is someone pleading the 5th in a criminal case but that got me to wondering about the point of pleading the 5th. If a prosecutor asks a witness if he was aware of criminal activity that was taking place, isn't pleading the fifth the same as saying yes? Surely, if a witness didn't know about criminal activity then they would just say no.

I suppose what I am really asking is, is there ever a situation in which pleading the fifth doesn't immediately highlight guilt in the witness? And if not then what is the point of it? Is it simply so that criminal proceedings are not then aimed at the witness?

It's the same as when you plead not guilty. As it was once explained to me, pleading Not Guilty (or, pleading the 5th) is not saying I didn't do it; it's saying, I am standing on my right under the Constitution to have the prosecution prove me guilty.

If a prosecutor asks a witness if he was aware of criminal activity that was taking place, isn't pleading the fifth the same as saying yes?

No, it is not the same thing. Juries are instructed not to infer anything from a 5th amendment privilege claim.

Surely, if a witness didn't know about criminal activity then they would just say no.

Not necessarily. There might be other reasons why an answer either way might be detrimental to the witness.

I suppose what I am really asking is, is there ever a situation in which pleading the fifth doesn't immediately highlight guilt in the witness? And if not then what is the point of it? Is it simply so that criminal proceedings are not then aimed at the witness?