Private student loan questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

dorothy

Hi my name is Dorothy Burch. I was a student online until September when my financial aid ran out. Years before I went through Sallie mae and received a private student loan. I had my brother in law who is disabled co sign for me. I was not considered disabled or have the health problems i am now facing. I have high blood pressure, fluid buiding up on my knees that is reducing the amount of time i can walk and i have obstrcutive sleep apnea. My doctor is waiting for final breathing tests to be done and then wants me to start going for SSI. I have put my other loans in forebrance and was told i could put my private loan on forebrance as well. Now i'm told my time which was a year has run out. I have informed them that i received medicaid and foodstamps and the only income i recieve is my husband who we are seperated paying the rent and lights as child support. I have informed them that i could pay a hundered to two a month until my SSI. I do not want my brother in law who is already going through a foreclosure and recenlty bankrupcy which they told him he could not file the student loan on to come off as co borrow to have too face paying this. Can you please tell me what my options are as i do not want to default. I just want to work with them so i can afford the payments until I can receive my disablity benefits

If you receive SSI, it cannot be garnished at all. This means that if you don't pay, the creditor will go after the co-signer (your brother-in-law).

There's no guarantee you'll actually be approved for disability. With that said, if your brother-in-law does go through bankruptcy that might free up resources so he can pay off the loan.