Privacy Act

Status
Not open for further replies.

arphoto

Does law inforcement have to follow some sort of privacy act? I work in a hospital where we have "HIPPA" laws, which menas if I am caught talking about a patient I can get fired. There was an incident where my son was summons by the police and my wife and I weren't home. For some reason, (my is son was18 at the time), the officer called our workplace for phone #s at 2am to located us and give us a heads up. The officer proceeded to tell the people who answered the phone "why" he needed our #. I can understand telling them who he is, but did he have the right to go into detail about why the summons was given?

Thanks...

No, there is no law that was violated by his disclosure.

And you should learn that the law regarding medical privacy is HIPAA, not HIPPA.

Does law inforcement have to follow some sort of privacy act? I work in a hospital where we have "HIPPA" laws, which menas if I am caught talking about a patient I can get fired. There was an incident where my son was summons by the police and my wife and I weren't home. For some reason, (my is son was18 at the time), the officer called our workplace for phone #s at 2am to located us and give us a heads up. The officer proceeded to tell the people who answered the phone "why" he needed our #. I can understand telling them who he is, but did he have the right to go into detail about why the summons was given?

Thanks...

Well, you are going to have to look into your states laws. You would be looking under "Public records" and "Confidential Criminal Justice Information".

The problem I see is the fact (where I live anyway) that the people have a RIGHT to know. But, this wasn't on T.V. warning the public or a danger.