Primay and secondary leases?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bhoconnor

Hi,

I am a graduate student on a tight budget, so I don't have the ability to pay for a lawyer to advise on a lease question that just came up—any help would be hugely appreciated!

I'm renting a house and am wondering if you all have any sense whether it's a common or advisable practice for a landlord to have a lease with one primary person in a house, who then has multiple secondary leases with others in the house. That is the situation I lived in this year (as one of the secondary leasees, not the primary), and I'm trying to decide about staying in my house and taking on that primary role (where I'd basically be signing that I'm liable for the full $1200 house rent, which I'd then get in part from two others who would move into the house with me).

I just hate moving and love my place, so I'm inclined to stay, but was going to see if there was any basic legal advice that I could share with my landlord that may convince her that it's a better legal/business decision for her to have everyone on the lease, opposed to having a lease with me who then has to have two leases with others.

Many, many thanks.

You're taking a huge risk for a minimal reward.

That is usually born by the landlord.

If one of your sublets bails on you, you're stuck paying his/her share.

The landlord only needs to come after you.

I wouldn't do it.

These agreements are fraught with high risks, minimal rewards.

Let the landlord hold all the risk.

My advice is, if you can't afford to pay $1,200/month by yourself, rent elsewhere.

You don't want the headaches this will possibly engender!

Thanks so much for the quick reply...i am definitely torn. Do you think there are any good arguments i can make to the landlord about why it would be better for her to put all of us on the lease? That's something i thought i would try....