Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Price tag swapping on an item

Status
Not open for further replies.

tilkma01

I was recently caught shoplifting at a store in Rockville, MD. I am 21 and this is my first time offence. I swapped an item's bag with a $25 price tag with a $99 cable. I bought a few other items and went to the cash register and paid. Someone saw me switch the bags and before I could leave the store he brought me to the back for questioning. Police came and gave me a uniform criminal citation. I was also banned from the store. What do i do? The penalty said $500 / 18 months. I have to show up in court after I recieve a letter in the mail that tells me to. Is there anyway I can get out of this or just pay a fine. I do not want to go to jail. Please help me. Thank you.

Start calling Lawyers and set up consultations. Ask them if Diversion is option in your case. This should you the desired result

Ok I will contact a lawyer. Based on previous cases or similar incidents, do you think I will be able to get off with nothing on my criminal record? Is it likely that the diversion program or similar community service programs or something will be a available for me to complete? And will it likely that I will spend time in jail? Again, this is my first offence so I think that will help in my favor, but I am over 18 so I guess that will not help at all.
thanks.

The Attorney(s) you talk with are best qualified to answer that. However I suspect if there is a diversion program in your county you will qualify

So you paid $25 for a $99 item? What kind of retail store was this? Department? Sporting goods? etc.

Maryland has a pretty lenient court system in regards to first time theft offenses. Pay your civil demand before court. Also get a lawyer and ask for probation before judgement as I suspect you were charged with theft under $100 or theft under $1000. Both are misdemeanors.