Photography Copyright

Status
Not open for further replies.

laverne

Hello,

I'm a photographer and I just started a photography business (LLC) on the web. My question is, if I take a photograph of a celebrity during a concert (some free). Can I take the pictures and sell them on ebay, internet or my website? Or do I have to get consent from the celebrity first?

Thank you
LaVerne

Hello,

I'm a photographer and I just started a photography business (LLC) on the web. My question is, if I take a photograph of a celebrity during a concert (some free). Can I take the pictures and sell them on ebay, internet or my website? Or do I have to get consent from the celebrity first?

There are differences between photographing in private places which you may be subject to an agreement in order to enter. States vary with regard to whether a celebrity has a "right of publicity" which they might be able to control the flow of their image. You can imagine that California is one of these "star-friendly" states. Typically selling a picture you took of a celebrity in the street is not a problem. It becomes more problematic when you are dealing with private areas, the potential for an appearance of an endorsement (e.g. there was a Samsung case dealing with Vanna White).

Here is an excerpt from a great page on the WIPO web site -World Intellectual Property Organization - copyright, photographs and celebrities. They are a fantastic resource for information and hopefully this article will help:

3. Making Photos of People

3.1 What should you bear in mind when photographing people?