1. Free Legal Help, Legal Forms and Lawyers. TheLaw.com has been providing free legal assistance online since 1995. Our most popular destinations for legal help are below. It only takes a minute to join our legal community!

    Dismiss Notice

Owner sold house I have been renting for 4 years. Owner Change

Discussion in 'Other Residential Landlord & Tenant Issues' started by Gumby688, May 6, 2021.

  1. Gumby688

    Gumby688 Law Topic Starter New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have been renting for 4 years from owner got a call on April 19th says they are selling house on May 14th and I have until then to move. New owners want us out so they can move in their daughter. Always on and current with rent. How much time do I have? I have not received any notices from owner yet. We are not trying to stay forever we have began the process of buying our own place.
     
  2. justblue

    justblue Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    882
    Trophy Points:
    113

    What state? Do you have a lease? ..If so, when does the lease end?
     
  3. adjusterjack

    adjusterjack Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    2,689
    Trophy Points:
    113

    I see that you are in New Hampshire. If that is true, answer the following. If not, add the state to your answers.

    1 - Do you have a written lease with a specific duration?
    2 - If yes, what are the from _______ to _______ dates?

    With a written lease with time left on it you would be entitled to stay until expiration.

    3 - If no lease, what is your rent due date?

    In the absence of a written lease the owner is required by statute 540:2 to give you written notice to quit the premises. The notice must state good cause. The removal of the rental from the rental market is good cause per 540:2 II (e) (3).

    Section 540:2 Termination of Tenancy.

    For all residential tenancies, 30 days written notices suffices per 540:3 II.

    Section 540:3 Eviction Notice.

    A "call" giving you notice to move out by May 14 is not a legal or valid notice.

    It's up to you to decide what you want to do with the statutory information that I just provided.
     
    Gumby688 and justblue like this.
  4. Gumby688

    Gumby688 Law Topic Starter New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We had a 1 year lease that converted to month to month after the year.
     
  5. Gumby688

    Gumby688 Law Topic Starter New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    New Hampshire
     
  6. adjusterjack

    adjusterjack Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    2,689
    Trophy Points:
    113

    Then what I wrote after question 3 applies.

    Do you have any questions about that material?
     
    justblue likes this.
  7. Red Kayak

    Red Kayak Active Member

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Then you are a month to month tenant.

    Reread post #3 thoroughly, including the links.

    Note: 30 days notice... gives you only 30 days. However, as AJ noted, it does not sound like you have been given proper notice.
     
    justblue likes this.

Share This Page