Over charged by Home Advisor

SwishPainting

Jurisdiction
New York
I am a painting contractor who relies on lead sites such as CraftJack and Home Advisor I had joined Home Advisor before they merged with Angies List. The way they work is you set a monthly spending limit and are then sent painting leads throughout the month based on the spending limit I myself set. The amount of leads I receive a month is completely up to me based on what I set my spending limit. Some months I would set my limit at 200.00 and a few times I set it as high as 300.00. The last month I had used Home Advisor I had set my monthly spending limit at 300.00. within a week of setting my monthly spending limit at $300.00 I logged on to my Home Advisor account and as shocked to see that I had been charged for $6,194.88 worth of leads that has since been sent to collections. I have tried to contact Home Advisor but I am given the run around. I demanded to know how I can be charged even one dollar over the 300.00 dollars I had set my monthly limit to let alone $6,194.88 and am never given a legitimate answer. Any advice as to how I should go about this legally would be greatly appreciated. Would this be a matter for small claims court and is there a specific type of layer that deals with issues like this.

Any advice as to how I should go about this legally would be greatly appreciated. Would this be a matter for small claims court and is there a specific type of layer that deals with issues like this.