Sex Crimes, Sex Offenders Nulla poena, nullum crimen sine lege

Status
Not open for further replies.

klawer

Hi,

I am a European law student, and I was wondering if the Nulla poena, nullum crimen sine lege principle is applicable in the United States, and if yes, in what text or case law is it located?

Thanks in advance.

Hi,

I am a European law student, and I was wondering if the Nulla poena, nullum crimen sine lege principle is applicable in the United States, and if yes, in what text or case law is it located?

Thanks in advance.

This European maxim says that one can not commit any crime, thus no punishment can be meted out, without violating PREVIOUS existing law.

Our federal government is prohibited from passing ex post facto laws (which address the same concept) according to Article I, section 9 of our constitution and the states are prohibited from doing the same because of clause 1 of section 10 of our constitution.

This is one of the very few restrictions set forth in our constitution to both 14th amendment to our constitution.

A string of legal precedents have buttressed this principle for over 230 years!

This European maxim says that one can not commit any crime, thus no punishment can be meted out, without violating PREVIOUS existing law.

Our federal government is prohibited from passing ex post facto laws (which address the same concept) according to Article I, section 9 of our constitution and the states are prohibited from doing the same because of clause 1 of section 10 of our constitution.

This is one of the very few restrictions set forth in our constitution to both 14th amendment to our constitution.

A string of legal precedents have buttressed this principle for over 230 years!

Thanks for you super-quick response, but I have another question.

Let me quickly summarize what "nulla poena..." in most of Continental European law (esp. Belgium, where I am) means. Also known as the "principle of legality", there are three aspects to this.