Notice of pending lien sale for vehicle

stancord

Jurisdiction
California
Hello,

I just received a notice of lien sale for a vehicle valued $4000 or less. I hope you can help or guide me.

My car began to break down last year around April 4, 2018. I then took it to the nearest mechanic I found through Yelp that had good reviews, and it turned out to be a mistake. For the first weeks, they had the car they kept on changing the diagnosis of what was wrong with the vehicle. Until eventually it led to the transmission being bad. It was cheaper to get it fixed and as a broke student I didn't have many options, so I agreed to the repair. During this period I rented and borrowed cars in order to commute. I would call multiple times and nobody would answer. When I would go and look for the main mechanic I would be told he was out of office and would return, so the status or repairs was unknown. When the refurbished transmission was installed near April 26, 2018, I paid about $626 and drove away in the car with a 3-month warranty on the transmission. Driving it home didn't feel right, but he said it was normal and to drive it a few hundred miles to let it get back to normal. Next morning the car wouldn't turn on.