Consumer Law, Warranties Non Refundable retainer fees

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photo_Queen

I am a photographer and I would like to know the correct term to use for my non refundable deposits.

I require my clients to send in half of their sitting fee as a retainer so that I know they are going to be there and I do not have to worry about NO Shows.

What is the correct term to list in my brochure and on my site so that I am not obligated to ever return that money if they cancel or just don't show up?

Non Refundable Deposit? Non Refundable Retainer fee?

my website and brochures state the following:

A non-refundable retainer fee of $200 is required in full to reserve your appointment.
This retainer fee MUST be received within FIVE DAYS of making your appointment in order to reserve your time.
After five days the appointment will not be guaranteed, NO exceptions. This retainer will be _applied to your sitting fee on the day of your portrait session.
Cancellations must be made at least 1 week prior to the session. New appointments will be made at the time of the cancellation.

Is this enough?

To an inexperienced reader it still might sound a little ambigious: What about a cancellation prior to a week before the appointment for which he already had paid the retainer? The way you write it the customer could hope for a reimbursement.

Actually, from a customer-friendly business perspective I would suggest that you make the retainer refundable if a customer cancels before a certain deadline that you can freely choose.

You should probably organize the conditions so they are easier to read: Something like this ( I haven't researched this in any way, just an idea how it would sound a little clearer):

Reservations and cancellations policy: